Fair
Recycled
Plastic

Long-term support for the environment,

society and the economy

Logo Divider

How recycling plastic can improve people’s living conditions

Plastics pollution in the environment and oceans is a global problem for which solutions are urgently needed. In the Indian metropolis of Bangalore, for example, around 3,500 tonnes of waste end up by the roadside or in illegal landfills every day. There is no nationwide, state-run waste disposal system.

This is not only a problem for the environment, but also negatively affects many people’s lives. An estimated 15,000 women and men in Bangalore work as so-called waste pickers.  Without the benefit of protective clothing or equipment they collect waste from the mountains of rubbish in order to sell it on.

The Melitta Group has founded a new recycling company in the Indian city called Fair Recycled Plastic. Its objective is to prevent plastic pollution in the environment and in our oceans as well as to help the waste pickers and bring about social change.

Mission

Collage Bangalore und Plastikmüll

Working together with Yunus Social Business

Recycling 2,000 tonnes of plastic

Our new recycling company was founded together with the Yunus Social Business Fund gGmbH set up by Nobel Prize winner Muhammad Yunus. Every year, it will recycle up to 2,000 tonnes of plastic waste that will then be reused in Melitta’s bin liner production.

Better infrastructure in the waste management industry

The waste plastic is sourced from selected social enterprises whose aim is to establish a better infrastructure in Bangalore’s waste management sector and thereby improve working conditions for waste pickers.

Support for charitable organisations

Our company operates on the principle of social business. This is a socially oriented form of business. Profits are either reinvested or donated to charitable organisations. Fair Recycled Plastic supports two NGOs that provide better health care and educational opportunities for waste pickers and their families.

News

Here you find all news about Fair Recylced Plastic.

Melitta Group establishes recycling company in India

Fair Recycled Plastic initiative contributes to combating environmental pollution and improving the living conditions of waste pickers Recycling company ‘Vishuddh Recycle’ set up as a ...

Read more
Logo Divider

FAQs

Do you have further questions about Fair Recycled Plastic?

Our FAQs provide answers to many different aspects of the initiative.

FAQs

Fair
Recycled
Plastic

Langfristige Unterstützung für Umwelt,
Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft

Logo Divider

Wie Kunststoffrecycling die Lebensbedingungen von Menschen verbessern kann

Die Verschmutzung der Umwelt und Meere durch Kunststoffe ist ein weltweites Problem, für das es dringend Lösungen braucht. In der indischen Metropole Bangalore landen zum Beispiel täglich etwa 3.500 Tonnen Abfall am Straßenrand oder in illegalen Mülldeponien. Eine flächendeckende, staatliche Entsorgung fehlt.

Das ist nicht nur ein Problem für die Umwelt, sondern beeinflusst auch das Leben vieler Menschen. Schätzungsweise 15.000 Frauen und Männer in Bangalore arbeiten als sogenannte Waste Picker (Müllsammelnde) und sammeln meist ohne Schutzutensilien in den Müllbergen Abfälle, die sie weiterverkaufen können.

Mit der Initiative Fair Recycled Plastic hat die Melitta Gruppe in der indischen Metropole eine neue Recyclingfirma gegründet. Damit sollen nicht nur Umwelt- und Meeresplastik vermieden, sondern auch den Waste Pickern geholfen und sozialer Wandel herbeigeführt werden.

Mission

Collage Bangalore und Plastikmüll

Zusammenarbeit mit Yunus Social Business

2.000 Tonnen Kunststoff aufbereiten

Unsere neue Recyclingfirma ist gemeinsam mit der Yunus Social Business Fund gGmbH des Nobelpreisträgers Muhammad Yunus gegründet worden. Jährlich sollen dort bis zu 2.000 Tonnen Kunststoffabfälle aufbereitet und anschließend in der Müllbeutelproduktion bei Melitta wiederverwertet werden.

Bessere Infrastruktur in Abfallwirtschaft

Die gesammelten Kunststoffe werden von ausgewählten sozialen Unternehmen bezogen, deren Ziel es ist, eine bessere Infrastruktur in der Abfallwirtschaft von Bangalore zu etablieren und so die Arbeitsbedingungen für Waste Picker zu verbessern.

Unterstützung für gemein­nützige Organisationen

Außerdem basiert unsere Firma auf dem Prinzip des Social Business. Dabei handelt es sich um eine sozial ausgerichtete Form des Wirtschaftens. Die Gewinne werden entweder reinvestiert oder kommen gemeinnützigen Organisationen zugute. Fair Recycled Plastic unterstützt zwei NGOs, die sich um eine bessere gesundheitliche Versorgung und um zusätzliche Bildungsangebote für die Waste Picker und ihre Familien kümmern.

News

Hier finden Sie alle News rund um Fair Recylced Plastic.

Melitta Gruppe gründet Recyclingfirma in Indien

Initiative Fair Recycled Plastic leistet Beitrag gegen Umweltverschmutzung und für bessere Lebensbedingungen von Waste Pickern Recyclingfirma „Vishuddh Recycle“ als Social Business in Bangalore gegründet 2.000 ...

Weiterlesen
Logo Divider

FAQs

Sie haben weitere Fragen zu Fair Recycled Plastic?

Unsere FAQs halten Antworten zu vielen verschiedenen Aspekten der Initiative bereit.

Zu den FAQs